About Us

The Southern Football League is the largest community based Australian Rules Football league in Tasmania. Based in Southern Tasmania Southern Football League License holders and member clubs are: Brighton Robins, Claremont Magpies, Cygnet “ThePort”, Dodges Ferry Sharks, Hobart Tigers, Huonville Lions, Lindisfarne Two Blues, New Norfolk Eagles and Sorell Eagles. 

In 2017 the SFL introduced a Women’s competition. Clubs competing in the SFLW are: Brighton, Claremont, Cygnet, Hobart, Huonville, Lindisfarne, New Norfolk, North Hobart, South East Suns, Kingborough and University.

The competition consists of Seniors, Reserves, Colts (Under 19’s) and Women’s.

League Management for the Southern Football League can be contacted via the details listed below.Southern Football League Management Office
C/- Horrie Gorringe Stand North Hobart Oval 1 – 5 Ryde Street, North Hobart TAS 7000

EmailĀ george.kalis@afl.com.au

AFL football in Tasmania has seen continued change over recent years and the 2018 season was no different with a  nine team competition in Seniors and Reserves and eight clubs fielding teams in the U/18 competition. The SFL was seen by the end of this season as the premier community based AFL football league in Tasmania.

The League continues to grow in professionalism of football operations and maintains a desire to provide a solid pathway for individuals who wish to support and play AFL within their own communities.

The SFL has developed strong community support and is now seen as a quality football league, which contributes significantly to the ongoing development of those people involved in the southern football community.